Katalog der UB Siegen

FQXi Workshop: Quantum Incompatibility 2017



Quantum incompatibilities are structural features of quantum theory that give rise to constraints on the possibilities of performing preparation or measurement operations jointly on the same object. Historically, 'incompatibility' was a term associated with the concept of noncommutativity of Hilbert space operators representing quantum observables. In the past few decades, however, the mathematical language of quantum physics has developed to the point of enabling precise operational conceptualizations of the (in)compatibility of observables and measurement operations. This has opened up an emerging research field with a rapidly increasing number of investigations.

The purpose of the workshop is to take stock of recent significant advances and insights into quantum incompatibility, and to enable the participants to jointly explore future directions and forge new collaborations. This will be a timely opportunity to allow participants to:

(a) discuss the connections between quantum incompatibility and foundational features such as quantum contextuality, Einstein-Podolsky-Rosen steering, and the trade-off between information gain and disturbance;

(b) develop further the understanding of the categorization of approximate joint measurability of incompatible sets of observables;

(c) find ways of determining the 'quantum' specifics of incompatibility by casting them in more general probabilistic theories.


  • Monday, 28/08/17 to Friday, 01/09/17
  • Arrival on Monday evening, departure Friday morning



  • The program can be downloaded here.

Invited speakers 

  • Claudio Carmeli (Genova, Italy) [slides]
  • Tom Bullock (Turku, Finland) [slides]
  • Erkka Haapasalo (Kyoto, Japan) [slides]
  • Jukka Kiukas (Aberystwyth, UK) [slides]
  • Chau Nguyen (Dresden, Germany) [slides]
  • Marco Tulio Quintino (Tokyo, Japan) [slides]
  • Daniel Reitzner (Bratislava, Slovakia) [slides]
  • Joseph Renes (Zürich, Switzerland) [slides]
  • Alessandro Toigo (Milano, Italy) [slides]
  • Reinhard Werner (Hannover, Germany)
  • Michael Wolf (München, Germany) [slides]
  • Sixia Yu (Singapore) [slides]
  • Mario Ziman (Bratislava, Slovakia) [slides]


  • Ali Asadian (Siegen) [slides]
  • Ana C.S. Costa (Siegen) [slides]
  • David Gross (Cologne)
  • Tristan Kraft (Glasgow)
  • Antonio di Lorenzo (Uberlandia [slides])
  • Kimmo Luoma (Dresden)
  • Daniel Miller (Düsseldorf)
  • Martin Plavala (Bratislava) [slides]
  • Oliver Reardon-Smith (York) [slides]
  • Rene Schwonnek (Hannover) [slides]
  • Timo Simnacher (Siegen)
  • Giuseppe Vitagliano (Vienna) [slides]
  • Huangjun Zhu (Cologne) [slides]


  • Paul Busch (York)
  • Otfried Gühne (Siegen)
  • Teiko Heinosaari (Turku)
  • Roope Uola (Siegen) [slides]


  • ERC Grant "Temporal Quantum Correlations"
  • Foundational Questions Institute (FQXi)

logo-erc-2.jpg   logo-fqxi-2.jpg